top of page

Better Beauty

Good morning everyone and happy Friday! From the start of Ashley Marie I knew I wanted to have guest writers. Other people always bring new wisdom and fresh perspective. So here we are! It's finally happening and our first writer is Hailey Everett.


Scripture is so clear on how our bodies are temples. 3 John 1:2 actually speaks about wishing good health on the reader and goes on to talk about good health with their soul. There are many verses where it talks about stewarding our bodies well! Which means skin care is a holy matter! There are so many products pulling at us do to high performance or cheaper cost. But what are they doing to our bodies in the long run? Why is skin care important? What are our healthier alternatives? Today Hailey is going to share her knowledge and experience with us.


Hailey is married to Martin Everett and they have two boys (the second one is on the way)! I first met Hailey a year and a half ago and we bonded over not being from Alabama. From there our love for the Lord, health and many other things brought us closer and closer. Hailey has so much knowledge when it comes to healthy living and balances it well. She really is so well rounded and practices what she preaches. Please enjoy the story of why she's chosen better skin care and tips on implementing it yourself!

Why Cleaner Beauty?


I get this question a lot. I always compare it to “why eat healthy?” For most of us, we were not raised aware of harmful ingredients or chemicals that are in our food, household products, and skincare products. We have gone on the mentality of “if there is not a problem, why fix it?” however, what if we nourished our bodies the way God intended us to so there never would be a problem. We are not created to uphold the chemical load our bodies are up against each day.


When I found out I was pregnant with my first son, I started to gain more knowledge and be more aware of what was not only going in my body but also on my body. Our skin is our largest organ, and everything put on it, goes into our systems. Whether that be our endocrine system, digestive system, immune system, it hits all the areas in all the wrong ways. Pregnancy heightened my awareness towards all of this. If I didn't want it in my son's body, why would I put it in my own?


I, slowly, started with my food. I chose grass-fed meat and pasture raised eggs and then organic fruit, eventually it turned into a lifestyle. Same thing happened with my skincare. It was not an over night thing, but after seeing all the little ways it was positively changing our lives, we eventually made the big leap to all clean!

Insert Beautycounter! I had heard about Beautycounter from one of my best friend’s Emily for a few months and I trusted her judgement, so I purchased a few things from her to see what all the hype was on. I chose the body butter for my ever-growing tummy and I was shocked to find that the lotion not only hydrated my skin but did not leave it feeling greasy all day long. I researched the company and learned way more than I expected.


Beautycounter is on a mission to educate people that companies are using harmful ingredients, greenwashing, and making their own call on what deems as “safe”. The FDA ( agency that regulates cosmetics in the US) does not have the authority to remove anything damaging or harmful ingredients put in to our products that we place on ourselves each day.


“Beautycounter is committed to a health and safety standard that goes beyond what is legally required.” The Never ListTM is made up of more than 1800 questionable or harmful ingredients that will never be in their products. Beautycounter is transparent in all ingredients in their products, along with their blueprint for clean that can be found on the website linked below. The CEOs of Beautycounter did not just stop here, they are protesting in DC, in front of Congress, to bring safer and cleaner to beauty. This stood out for me. It was not just another new trend; it was a movement. I was on board and still am.


Beautycounter has three different lines that cater to any type of skin type.

x Countercontrol is for the acne prone. My husband, who has struggled with breakouts his whole life, swears by this line! It's really helped him to get a hold of his skin!

x Countermatch is for the balanced, just needing to cleanse each day.

x Countertime is the anti-aging line.


Each has its own unique formulated to attack the inflammation on the skin. Countertime is my personal fave as I am becoming more aware of this whole “aging” process. It uses a Retinatural Complex; “Bakuchiol which is comparable to retinol-without any harmful side effects such as skin irritation and increased sun sensitivity- and Swiss Alpine rose boosts the skin’s antioxidant defense.” They also have sunscreen, makeup, and everyday lotions. Honestly, you cannot go wrong with anything, and I have tried.it.all. (My bank account feels it!)


If you're wondering, "where do I start?"


I say start small! One step closer to cleaner is better than staying in the same spot. What products do you use daily? For most, it’s a cleanser, exfoliator, lotion, or moisturizer. Next time one product runs out, choose cleaner! Find an item and research it. Go for it! You can never go wrong choosing safer for yourself and you are never to late to start.


I hope this has been informative and given a better idea of not only why Beautycounter, but also, why cleaner beauty. I would love to chat all the things and get to know you! Contact me for samples, to talk skincare, Jesus, or really anything!


Instagram: haileyleverett



87 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Abundant

bottom of page